Dean's Message
Spring 2015 No.26
Faculty Honors, Awards & Achievements
Dean of Engineering and Chair Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering Prof Khaled Ben Letaief and Prof Jun Zhang, Electronic and Computer Engineering, and their team won the Best Paper Award in the 2014 IEEE International Symposium on Personal, Indoor, and Mobile Radio Communications (PIMRC). The paper focused on "Joint Data Assignment and Beamforming for Backhaul Limited Caching Networks" and was co-authored by PhD student Xi Peng and research associate Dr Juei Chin Shen. Prof Zhang also received the 2014 EURASIP Best Paper Award for his co-authored paper on "Mode Switching for the Multi-Antenna Broadcast Channel Based on Delay and Channel Quantization".  
Prof Mansun Chan, Electronic and Computer Engineering, and his team in Shenzhen received a Second Class Award in the Natural Science Category of the 2013 Shenzhen Science and Technology Awards for their "Study of Double Gate FinFET Device Physics, Modeling and Circuit Applications".  
Prof Lei Chen, Computer Science and Engineering, has been elected to the Very Large Data Base Endowment Inc (VLDB Endowment) Board of Trustees. The 21 trustees are elected among internationally distinguished researchers and professionals in the field.
Prof Vladimir Chigrinov, Electronic and Computer Engineering, won the Gold Medal and Best Award in the Invention & Innovation Awards 2014 at the Malaysia Technology Expo 2014. His co-authored paper explored " Environmental Friendly, Non-Hazardous, Biocomposite Mixtures for Future Generation Plastic Displays". The paper also won the Green Technology Award from the Japan Intellectual Property Association at the Expo.
Prof Furong Gao, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, received a National Natural Science Foundation of China key project award for his study on "High Performance Control of Batch Process".
Prof J S Kuang, Civil and Environmental Engineering, was honored with the Telford Premium 2014 from the Institution of Civil Engineers UK for the best paper on engineering and computational mechanics. In addition, he won the Best Paper Award at the International Conference on Advances in Civil and Structural Engineering. Prof Kuang has been elected a council member of the Institution of Structural Engineers, one of the most prestigious civil engineering professional bodies in the world.
Prof Ricky Shi Wei Lee, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, together with his research team, won an Outstanding Paper Award for “Development of an Integrated Real-Time Scanning System with Uni-Photodetector for LED Reliability Tests" at the 15th International Conference on Electronic Packaging Technology in Chengdu. His co-authors were Dr Jeffery Lo of HKUST and Grace Zhang of HKUST LED-FPD Technology R&D Center at Foshan.
Prof Ho Yin Mak, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, was awarded the 2014 INFORMS Energy, Natural Resources, and the Environment (ENRE) Young Researcher Prize.
Prof Minhua Shao, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, received the Energy Technology Division Supramaniam Srinivasan Young Investigator Award from the Electrochemical Society. He received the accolade "for his accomplishments in the synthesis and characterization of novel electrocatalysts and materials for electrochemical energy technologies" in the United States. He joined HKUST in 2014.
Prof Richard So, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, has been elected a Fellow of the International Ergonomics Association (IEA), the first member from Hong Kong to achieve the honor. IEA Fellowship has been accorded to less than 100 recipients since 1960. Prof So has also been elected co-editor-in-chief for Displays, an international journal. He is the first Chinese person to hold the prestigious title.