MARCH 2015
Salute to Our Outstanding Staff

The success of every organization is built on talents. Established in 2007, the President’s Outstanding Service Award aims at recognizing dedicated non-teaching staff members for their exceptional services and contributions to the University. Any members within the University can nominate a staff of their choice for this award.

This year, the President’s Outstanding Service Award goes to Ms Margaret Chau, Head (Research and Graduate Studies Administration) in the Office of the Dean of Engineering; Mr Mike Hudson, Director of the Facilities Management Office, and Dr Chi Moon Li, Senior Manager of the Health, Safety and Environment Office, in recognition of their devotion to the University and exemplary performance.

Prof Joseph Lee, Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies, and Chairman of the Selection Committee for the award, said, “The award serves to recognize non-teaching staff members who have demonstrated their extraordinary service, exceptional initiatives, and commitment to excellence, as well as contributions to the betterment of their work units and the University as a whole. All the nominees possess unique strengths. The Selection Committee had a difficult job shortlisting the finalists and deciding on the award recipients.”

The awardees were invited to bring their families to the award presentation and the dinner gathering on 11 November 2014, where they shared joy, insights and fond memories. Prof Tony F Chan, President of HKUST, extended his profound gratitude to the awardees for their continuous contributions to the University. He was happy to see the well-deserved awardees serve as role models for our colleagues.

Awardee – Ms Margaret Chau
Head (Research and Graduate Studies Administration) in the Office of the Dean of Engineering

A dedicated and caring staff member, Margaret has been instrumental in building up affiliation with many top institutions and organizing visits to over 30 leading universities in Asia, Europe and the Mainland. Under her watch, the School of Engineering received the largest number of awardees of the Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme among all engineering schools in Hong Kong for five consecutive years. The website set up by Margaret allows current international students to interact with the newcomers in order to settle in the new environment at the University.

Awardee – Mr Mike Hudson
Director of the Facilities Management Office

Mike demonstrates excellent leadership to design, build and manage all the campus buildings and leads his team in a wide variety of on-campus capital works programs. Underlining his utter professionalism and dedication to maintaining high standards and delivering customer satisfaction, he pioneered mission-focused management programs encouraging a strong rapport with faculty and administrative departments. He is devoted to make this University a green campus. Mike has arranged the highly popular HKUST Campus Garage Sale for many years.

Awardee – Dr Chi Moon Li
Senior Manager of the Health, Safety and Environment Office

Dr Li leads the contractor safety program and environmental effort for the Health, Safety and Environment Office. He also serves as the external liaison with various government departments and as the University’s representative at the Sai Kung District Council. He is instrumental in the planning, liaison and operational management of the HKUST Eco Park. As the Chairman of the HKUST Staff Association from 2011 to 2014, he helped foster a harmonious atmosphere among colleagues of all levels. He has also served as a member of the HKUST Court to provide insight and opinions to help steer the University to scale new heights.

Finalist – Ms Daphne Cheung
Program Officer of Department of Management

Ms Daphne Cheung has demonstrated incredible excellence in coordinating and managing faculty recruitment for the Department of Management. She also provides exceptional secretarial support to the department head as well as all key committees in the department.

Finalist – Ms Yvonne Ho
Head of Undergraduate Core Education of the Office of Academic Quality & Undergraduate Studies

Ms Yvonne Ho spearheaded the establishment of the Undergraduate Core Education Office. She is a main contributor to the successful launching of the common core program, which serves to nurture the whole-person development of our students.

Finalist – Ms Helen Lai
Executive Officer of Department of Physics

Ms. Helen Lai has been excellent in carrying out many kinds of administrative duties in the department. In her capacity, she has made well-thought arrangements for budget preparation, course selection and logistics. Over the years, she has earned the trust of the department head and other faculty members.

Finalist – Mr Sek-Lam Leung
Senior Attendant of Undergraduate Hall V, Office of the Dean of Students

Commonly known as “Uncle Leung” to the undergraduate residents, Mr Sek-Lam Leung is very popular and is well respected by the students. With a belief that the hall can be made into a “home away from home”, he carries out his duties with dedication and helps turning the hall into a pleasant environment for all to stay.

Finalist – Mr Sam Wong
Assistant Computer Officer of Public Affairs Office

Mr Sam Wong is the sole IT professional in the Public Affairs Office. He brought the first e-board to the school and helped to promote paperless advertising. Hailed as “Air in the Public Affairs Office”, he is indispensable and available at all times to offer assistance to his colleagues.

Finalist – Mr Doug Wong
Computer Officer of Information Technology Services Center

Mr Doug Wong is the deputy leader of the IT Technical Services & AV Technology Team. He has made significant contributions for the success of the Personal Response System (PRS), enhancing classroom learning experience, as well as allowing effective teaching of the instructors.

Finalist – Ms Gabrielle Wong
Learning Commons Manager of Library

Ms Gabrielle Wong brings leadership and creativity to the Library. Under her watch, the Learning Commons operates smoothly, providing the HKUST community an environment for intellectual exchanges and a hub of technology that supports learning tasks.

*Citations by nominators