Dean's Message
Summer 2014 No.25
Student Honors, Awards & Achievements
PhD students Wei Bi and Yanjiao Chen, Computer Science and Engineering, were awarded the prestigious Google Fellowship in Machine Learning and Google Fellowship in Mobile Computing respectively. Only four out of an extremely competitive pool of applicants were awarded the fellowships in China in 2013. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students pursuing work in computer science and related disciplines.
Computer Science and Engineering undergraduates Junhong Cao, Lingou Deng and Xiongqi Zhang, all coached by Prof Ke Yi, won the Championship at the annual ACM-HK Programming Contest 2013. The event involved eight Hong Kong universities as well as two from Macau.
Electronic and Computer Engineering PhD student Shuming Chen received the Runner-up Prize in the Hong Kong Institution of Science 2013 Young Scientist Awards (Engineering Science Category) with his project on white organic light-emitting diodes (WOLEDs). He was able to achieve a WOLED with high efficiency of 66 lm/W and a high CRI of 92. The technology is now being applied to four-inch displays/lighting panels in a pilot project produced by a start-up company.
Three Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering PhD students won Third Prize at the International Contest of Applications in Nano-Micro Technologies (iCAN 2013). Yuanwu Chen, Weiqiang Li and Yejun Zhu developed a project entitled "Intelligent Happiness Detector". This is an integrated microsystem consisting of a wireless brainwave sensor, body-temperature sensor, heart-rate sensor, LED indictors for happiness level, micro controller unit and built-in computer program for calibration and analysis of sensor output. They were one of 18 teams from nine countries and regions selected for the final contest in Barcelona. The judging panel comprised more than 40 entrepreneurs and investors from all over the world.
PhD student Wei Dai, Electronic and Computer Engineering, won the Best Student Paper Award at the IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP) held in September 2013 in Melbourne. The paper was entitled "Rate-Distortion Optimized Merge Frame Using Piecewise Constant Functions", and co-authored by Prof Oscar Au and collaborators from Japan's National Institute of Informatics, Singapore University of Technology and Design and University of Southern California. ICIP is one of two flagship conferences of the IEEE Signal Processing Society. It is known as the best conference for image processing with about 1,000 papers.
Computer Science and Engineering PhD student Jeff Huang received the prestigious 2013 SIGSOFT Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award for his PhD thesis "Effective Methods for Debugging Concurrent Software". This award is given annually to only one author of an outstanding doctoral dissertation in the area of software engineering from all over the world. In addition, his paper "CLAP: Recording Local Executions to Reproduce Concurrency Failures", collaborated with IBM Research, received the SIGPLAN PLDI Distinguished Paper Award at the 34th annual ACM SIGPLAN conference on Programming Language Design and Implementation (PLDI 2013) in Seattle. PLDI is a significant event for publishing research results in the area of programming languages and software analysis. This was the first SIGPLAN PLDI paper award in Asia. Jeff is currently a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
An undergraduate Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management student team won the Champion Award at the HKIE-MI Student Project Competition 2012/13. Siheng Ji, Yik Hang Pang and Yi Zhang's project was entitled "A Toys"R"Us Project to Design the Next Generation Toys". Their final design of the toy "Uncatchable Ball" was considered innovative and viable by the judging panel, which comprised six senior members of the Manufacturing and Industrial Division of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (HKIE-MI). The panel also highly commended the clarity and fluency of the students’ presentations and their hard work.
A Civil and Environmental Engineering postgraduate team, comprising MPhil students Chun Hang Leung (team leader) and Chaoyi Wang and PhD students Cong Lu and Pengfei Wang, won First Prize in the Introducing and Demonstrating Earthquake Engineering Research in Schools (IDEERS) competition, held at the National Center for Research on Earthquake Engineering, Taipei, in September 2013. The team was triumphant in the Postgraduate Division and also won the Best Presentation Award Third Prize. A total of 17 postgraduate and more than 40 undergraduate student teams from all around the world took part in the competition.
PhD student Tao Lu, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, won the Student Paper Award at the 2013 International Conference on Logistics and Maritime Systems (LOGMS) in Singapore. His paper, "Putting All Shipments in One Vessel? Carrier Portfolio Management in Liner Shipping", was the only one selected for the award. Tao's analysis revealed the two-sided benefits of using multiple carriers and suggested that in practice it is good enough for the shipper to select two particular carriers according to simple criteria.
PhD student Tsz Nok Ng, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, won the Best Poster Award at the 3rd Asia-Pacific Chemical and Biological Microfluidics Conferences (APCBM), held in Korea in August 2013.
Electronic and Computer Engineering (ECE) PhD student Zhikai Tang received the Best Student Paper Award at the 2013 CS ManTech (Compound Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology) Conference in New Orleans, US. His paper was entitled '600 V High-Performance AlGaN/GaN HEMTs with AlN/SiNx Passivation" and was co-authored by ECE PhD students Qimeng Jiang, Cheng Liu and Shenghou Liu, Prof Kevin Chen, and former postdoctoral fellow Dr Sen Huang.
Undergraduate Henry Man Hang Wong, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, received "The Engineering Staff Award – Innovation Award" from Cathay Pacific Airways while working as an engineering intern at the airline's Technical Service Engineering Department. The award honors staff who have implemented an innovative new idea that makes a difference to what they or others do at the company. Henry developed a quick reference program for fuel measurement, which substantially shortens the fuel measurement time.