MARCH 2014

Some of the latest awards and honors accorded to members of HKUST

Fellows, members
President Tony F Chan (top row, first left) has been elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering in the United States for "numerical techniques applied to image processing and scientific computing and for providing engineering leadership at national and international level".

 ► Prof Jianshu Li, Chair Professor of Mathematics (top row, center), has been honored with membership of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, becoming the first Hong Kong-based scholar to be elected to the Academy’s Division of Mathematics and Physics.

Prof Benzhong Tang, Stephen Kam Chuen Cheong Professor of Science  and Chair Professor of Chemistry (top row, right), was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

► Three Electronic and Computer Engineering faculty members, Prof Kevin Chen, Prof Howard Luong, and Prof Philip Mok (second row, left to right), were elected Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the world’s largest professional association for the advancement of technology, giving the School of Engineering a total of 33 IEEE Fellows.

Prof Tianshou Zhao, Chair Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (third row, left), and Prof Shihe Yang, Professor of Chemistry (third row, center), and their researchers were awarded prestigious 2013 State Natural Science Awards (Second Class) from the PRC State Council.  Prof Zhao received the honor for his work on direct alcohol fuel cells and Prof Yang for developing methodologies for synthesizing transition metal-based mondispersed nanomaterials.

► PhD student Shanchao Zhang, Department of Physics (third row, right), won the 2013 Hong Kong Young Scientist Award in the Physical/Mathematical category for the project “Coherent Quantum Interaction Between Photons and Atoms”.

► An MBA student team from the School of Business and Management won the Grand Prize at the USC Marshall Global Consulting Challenge in the United States, competing against other leading business schools.