Dean's Message
Fall 2013  No.24
Faculty Honors, Awards & Achievements
Prof Gary Chan, Computer Science and Engineering, and his team gained a merit award in the research and development category of the Asia Pacific ICT Alliance (APICTA) Awards 2012 for their innovative multi-hop wireless network for pervasive Wi-Fi access, which greatly improves wireless data transmission efficiency and coverage.
Prof Francesco Ciucci, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, and his collaborators from MIT Ideation Laboratory received the Journal of Laboratory Automation (JALA) Ten Award 2013. The JALA Ten is an annual editorial feature that highlights 10 top technological breakthroughs from all types of research organizations. Prof Ciucci's team was recognized for a new game-theoretic approach for the determination of Pareto optima in engineering design in the article “An Information-Passing Strategy for Achieving Pareto Optimality in the Design of Complex Systems", published in Research in Engineering Design.
Prof Hoi Sing Kwok, Electronic and Computer Engineering, was awarded the 2013 Society for Information Display (SID) Slottow-Owaki Prize. He was honored for the creation of the Center for Display Research at HKUST, which has trained and educated many people in the field in Asia.
Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies Prof Joseph H W Lee, Civil and Environmental Engineering, has received the 2013 Karl Emil Hilgard Hydraulic Prize from the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) for his paper "Mixing of a Rosette Jet Group in a Crossflow". The award recognizes his distinguished work on environmental water resources and the problem of flowing water. This was the first time that the prize went to Hong Kong-produced research since it was instituted in 1939. The paper was co-authored by Prof Lee's former PhD student Adrian C H Lai and postdoctoral fellow Dr Daeyoung Yu.
Associate Dean of Engineering (Undergraduate Studies) Prof Hong K Lo, Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been elected Convener of the International Scientific Committee of the Conference on Advanced Systems for Public Transport (CASPT). CASPT is the most prestigious conference series in public transportation, with a history of close to 40 years. Prof Lo successfully brought the conference series to Hong Kong in 2009, the first time it had been held in Asia.
Prof Xiangtong Qi, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, received an Award for Research Excellence in Social Sciences (Second Class) from the Ministry of Education for his paper on "Price Competition, Cost and Demand Disruptions and Coordination of a Supply Chain with One Manufacturer and Two Competing Retailers". The paper was co-written with Prof Tiaojun Xiao, Nanjing University, and published in Omega, The International Journal of Management Science, Issue 5, 2008.
Prof Weichuan Yu, Electronic and Computer Engineering, won the Biomedical Wellness Pioneer Award at the 2013 SPIE Defense, Security, and Sensing meeting in Baltimore, US, in recognition of his pioneering contribution to biomedical computing. A total of six awards were given out at the meeting. The event attracted more than 6,000 registered attendees and nearly 500 companies.