Dean's Message
Fall 2013  No.24
Prestigious Fellowships
School of Engineering academics have been elected fellows of various prestigious professional organizations, demonstrating the faculty team's global standing and contribution to their respective fields.
Prof Qiang Yang, Computer Science and Engineering, has become a 2013 Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) Fellow. This is the highest honor in the AI community and Prof Yang is the first to achieve such recognition in Greater China. He was recognized for significant contributions to AI planning, data mining and case-based reasoning. 
Six faculty members from the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering have been made Fellows of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (HKIE), which promotes the advancement of engineering and facilitates the exchange of knowledge and ideas. They are Dean of Engineering Prof Khaled Ben Letaief, Associate Dean Prof Roger Cheng, Head of Department Prof Ross Murch, Prof Oscar Au, Prof Vincent Lau and Prof Danny Tsang. 
Prof Murch has also been elected a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The IET is a world-leading professional organization, sharing and advancing knowledge to promote science, engineering and technology, and has more than 150,000 members worldwide in 127 countries.
Prof Au has been elected Chair of the Asia-Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association (APSIPA) Image, Video, and Multimedia Technical Committee. APSIPA is an emerging association aimed at promoting research and education activities in signal and information processing.