Dean's Message
Spring 2013  No.23
Faculty Honors, Awards and Achievements
Prof Jack Cheng, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and his PhD student Moumita Das received the Best Applied Paper Award at the 14th International Conference on Computing in Civil and Building Engineering. The paper was entitled "A gbXML-Based Web Service Framework for Green Building Design and Rule-Based Code Checking". The conference was held in Moscow, Russian Federation, in June 2012.

Prof Huihe Qiu, Mechanical Engineering, received the Philips Outstanding Paper Award at the International Conference on Electronic Packaging Technology and High Density Packaging in Guilin in August 2012. The paper entitled "A Nanostructure Patterned Heat Spreader for On-Chip Thermal Management of High-Power LEDs" was co-authored with his PhD students Zhen Sun and Xiaodan Chen. The conference covers the latest developments in the field.

Prof Richard So, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, gave a keynote speech entitled "System Ergonomics" at the 5th AUN/SEED-Net Regional Conference on Manufacturing Engineering in Manila in November 2012. The meeting was held in conjunction with the 1st Human Factors and Ergonomics Society of the Philippines Conference.

Prof C Y Tsui, Electronic and Computer Engineering, and his PhD student Toby Zhiliang Qian received a Best Paper Award for their study "Traffic-Aware Adaptive Routing Algorithm on a Highly Reconfigurable Network-on-Chip Architecture" at the 2012 IEEE/ACM International Conference on Hardware/Software Codesign and System Synthesis. The conference was held in Finland in October 2012. It is the premier forum in design, modeling, analysis, and implementation of modern embedded systems.

The work of Prof Qian Zhang, Computer Science and Engineering, was recognized with the 2012 Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation Science and Technology Innovation Award. The Foundation was established in Hong Kong in 1994 to promote the development of science and technology in China and to reward scientific and technical personnel with outstanding achievements and great innovations. It awards three annual prizes: for scientific and technological achievements; scientific and technological progress; and scientific and technological innovation.