Dean's Message
Spring 2012  No.21
Faculty Honors, Awards & Achievements

Dean of Engineering Prof Khaled Ben Letaief has won the 2011 IEEE Communications Society Harold Sobol Award for Exemplary Service to Meetings and Conferences. The award is given to a member who has demonstrated exemplary service over a sustained period of time. It is open to members around the world and only one person is chosen to receive the honor each year.

Prof Shing Chi Cheung, Computer Science and Engineering, together with a group of researchers from Nanjing University received a second prize in the National Awards for Science and Technology Progress 2011. Their project focused on "Software Technology, Platforms, and Applications for Internetware".

Prof Lambros Katafygiotis, Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been awarded the Senior Research Prize by the European Association for Structural Dynamics. Senior and Junior Research Prizes are presented every three years to recognize outstanding contributions in various fields of structural dynamics (one prize for methodology development, and one for computation or application). Prof Katafygiotis received his accolade in the area of computational methods in structural dynamics with the following citation: "For his many pioneering seminal contributions in Computational Stochastic Dynamics and Systems Identification".  The award was delivered at the 8th International Conference on Structural Dynamics (EURODYN 2011), Leuven, Belgium, July 4-6, 2011.

Prof Hoi Sing Kwok, Electronic and Computer Engineering, received the Best Presentation Award at the Optics of Liquid Crystals (OLC) 2011 Conference in Yerevan, Armenia. OLC conferences provide opportunities for scientists and engineers in the field to discuss recent results, meet other experts, and review current research trends.

"Transforming Hong Kong’s Ocean Container Transport Logistics Network", a study led by Prof Chung-Yee Lee, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, was one of only six projects out of 89 proposals to be supported in the first round of the Research Grants Council's Theme-based Research Scheme. The project received funding of HK$13,292,000. The research team will holistically study ocean container transport supply chain networks around the world at strategic and tactical levels. The team will also develop decision support systems for Hong Kong's ocean container supply chain network.

It has been a rewarding time for Prof Ricky Lee, Mechanical Engineering, and his research team who have collected several honors recently. Post-doctoral Fellow Dr Fubin Song, PhD candidate Chaoran Yang and Prof Lee won the Best Paper Award at the SMTA China South Technology Conference for their paper "Effect of Pad Design and PCB Materials on the Pad Cratering Failure". Prof Lee, Dr Song, and their industrial collaborators also received the Best International Conference Paper Award from IPC APEX2011 Expo, the largest international conference dedicated to surface mount technologies. In addition, Prof Lee has been elected President of IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology (CPMT) Society. The world-renowned flagship technical society has a membership of more than 3,000 high-caliber professionals worldwide. Prof Lee is the first one based in Asia to be elected to this global leadership position.


Prof Bo Li and Prof Long Quan, Computer Science and Engineering, have been awarded grants in the National Natural Science Foundation of China/Research Grants Council Joint Research Scheme Competition 2011. Prof Li's project involves "The Minimized Energy Consumptions and Maximized Resource Utilizations in Large-scale Datacenters" while Prof Quan's study looks at "Theory and Practice of Large-scale 3D Urban Reconstruction and Modeling".


Prof Richard So, Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management, has become a scientific editor for Applied Ergonomics and an editor for Ergonomics, both among the top journals in the field.

Prof Matthew Yuen, Mechanical Engineering, and his research group have won the Philips Best Paper Award at the 2011 International Conference on Electronic Packaging Technology and High Density Packaging. The paper was entitled "Novel Cooling Solutions for LED Solid State Lighting".