Teaching and Research
Salute to Good Teachers
(From left) Prof Michelle Yik, President Chan and Prof Mike So

At HKUST, we count on our top-notch faculty members to achieve teaching and research excellence. We salute to our outstanding faculty members who are dedicated to quality education.

Prof Michelle Yik, Acting Head and Associate Professor of the Division of Social Science, and Prof Mike So, Associate Professor of the Department of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management have been nominated for the University Grants Committee (UGC) Teaching Award. Prof Yik and Prof So had received the University’s Michael G Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching in 2010 and 2009 respectively. Prof Yik has become one of the six finalists of the UGC Teaching Award further to a series of selection procedures.

  (From left), Prof Shengwang Du, Prof Nian Lin, Prof Nancy Ip and Prof Zilong Wen

The School of Science presented awards to recognize outstanding performance of its faculty members:

  • School Teaching Award – Prof Nian Lin, Department of Physics;
  • School Research Award – Prof Shengwang Du, Department of Physics; Prof Zilong Wen, Divison of Life Science

The School of Engineering launched the new research excellence awards in 2011. The recipients are:

  • Research Excellence Award – Prof Hoi-sing Kwok, Dr William M W Mong Chair Professor of Nanotechnology of Electronic and Computer Engineering;
  • Distinguished Research Excellence Award – Prof Guohua Chen, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; and Prof Qian Zhang, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering
  • The Young Investigator Research Award – Prof Matthew McKay, Assistant Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering

The School of Humanities and Social Science awarded the Award for Teaching Excellence. The recipient is Prof James Kung, Chair Professor from the Division of Social Science.